You are currently browsing the Not everything online is as it seems! weblog archives for the day August 13, 2007.
- Internet Development (2)
- Is it as it seems? (3)
- Life (2)
- March 25, 2008: Is it a scam?
- September 6, 2007: Expiring Domains
- August 29, 2007: Lassie 1993 - 2007
- August 28, 2007: Sharing Lassie
- August 20, 2007: A close look at Spammers…. The Pharmacy America Trusts
- August 13, 2007: It's all so confusing...using words to grab a market!
- August 13, 2007: A close look at Spammers....The United States National Medical Association
Blogroll
Archive for August 13, 2007
It’s all so confusing…using words to grab a market!
August 13, 2007 by kim.milton.
On 8/10/07 I received the following email:
The link goes to a site with the following logo:
But the site address is at:
http://cb.adprofile.net/lrs/68/index.html?OID=6523&nopop=1&xid=0&CID=110368&SID=310996
Obviously this is an adverting campaign so I navigated to christianfamilyloans.com and found this (a search portal from information.com):
With a popup window for this (you’ll see this company again):
OK, so There is no ChristianFamilyLoans.com, there is a search portal and an Ad for Low Rate Source. So lets go back to the original email and start over. The email link opens this page:
The addresses listed on the Contact Us page are for christianfamilymorgage.com (this page loads a Server not found error)
The address listed on the About Us page is for lowratesource.com (this page loads the LowRateSource site)
I can go on but I think I have found the company. I’m not saying there is anything wrong with this company, I don’t have enough information to know for sure.
My Opinion:
If I were looking for a Christian business I would look elsewhere.
Something to think about:
This email and resulting link, have made reference or navigated to the following sites:
- shoppersavin.info (sending site)
- cb.adprofile.net (linked site)
- christianfamilyloans.com (linked site logo)
- christianfamilymorgage.com (email reference)
- lowratesource.com (email reference)
Posted in Is it as it seems? | No Comments »
A close look at Spammers….The United States National Medical Association
August 13, 2007 by kim.milton.
I received the following email and seven others like it (except for the from email address) over the last six days:
The email account that received the spam is one from my website. I never register for anything with this email. The from address could be masked by the sender so I kept it private.
They claim to be: US NMA (US National Medical Association) at http://www.us-nma.com/.
- By typing the site address in a web browser, an error page loaded: Error 404 Not Found, The document you requested is not found.
- The link properties are: http://sethnw.cn/?EILJSMWFxVW3VcW19AWl9CW1tBXkEdV1pc
- When the link is active, the site that loads is: http://dolmisdes.cn/p/?&pid=1359 ( A Canadian Pharmacy)
While looking over the website I located the Contact page. The site has a form for reporting spam so I did. I’ll let you know if I hear back from the company.
Update:
The email shown about came in as I was writing this Blog entry so I went back and grabbed a screen capture for the most current spam. Funny thing happened when I clicked on the link, Sever not found for sethnw.cn. I think the Canadian Pharmacy shut down the Spammer. This is a good example of a company that uses an Affiliate program for advertising and an Affiliate that abuses the system.
Not everything online is as it seems!
Kim
Posted in Is it as it seems? | 1 Comment »




